Team East Sussex (TES)

Team East Sussex (TES) is the local federated board for the South East Local Enterprise Partnership (SELEP Ltd).

Membership of Team East Sussex is made up of business, local authority, social enterprise and education representatives from across the county. Six of the TES members also hold the position of Company Director of SELEP Ltd.

TES membership

The Team East Sussex Board is currently made up of the following 17 members.

Business Members

  • Alison Turner (TES Deputy Chair)
  • Ana Christie
  • Christina Ewbank
  • Clive Soper
  • David Sheppard (TES Chair)
  • Martin Ellis
  • Paul Hetherington
  • Penny Shimmin
  • Stewart Drew

Local Authority Members

  • Cllr Christine Bayliss (Rother DC)
  • Cllr Julia Hilton (Hastings BC)
  • Cllr Keith Glazier (East Sussex CC)
  • Cllr Paul Coleshill (Wealden DC)
  • Cllr Stephen Holt (Eastbourne BC)
  • Cllr Zoe Nicholson (Lewes DC)

Further and Higher Education Members

  • Donna Harfield (East Sussex College)
  • Sue Baxter (University of Sussex)

TES members as SELEP Directors

Team East Sussex has four seats on the SELEP Strategic Board, occupied by Ana Christie, Clive Soper, David Sheppard and Cllr Keith Glazier, all as Company Directors of SELEP Ltd.

Two further TES members are also ‘co-opted’ SELEP Directors, representing their respective sectors for the whole SELEP region (rather than representing TES). These are Penny Shimmin representing the Social Enterprise sector and Cllr Christine Bayliss representing Borough and District Councils.

TES meetings

Team East Sussex meets quarterly for TES Board meetings. The next TES Board meeting is scheduled for 18 March 2024.

Meeting papers

Minutes and papers for all TES meetings are published on the SELEP website: Minutes and meetings - SELEP website.

Minutes are also available on request from the County Council's Economic Development department.

TES terms of reference

The most recent version of the TES terms of reference was published in May 2023.

Team East Sussex Terms of Reference

TES conflicts of interest

To ensure compliance with the SELEP Conflict of Interest Policy, each member of the TES Board is required to complete a Register of Interests form. You can view copies on the Register of Interests page.

East Sussex Economy Recovery Plan

Developed by Team East Sussex and published in September 2020 in direct response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the East Sussex Economy Recovery Plan aims to build sustainable prosperity for our businesses, voluntary, community and social enterprise sectors, and support residents to access new opportunities that drive economic recovery and resilience.

Additional TES documents

As the local federated board for the South East Local Enterprise Partnership (SELEP), TES adheres to a number of SELEP policies, including:

  • SELEP Local Assurance Framework;
  • SELEP Terms of Reference;
  • Code of Conduct;
  • Complaints Policy;
  • Conflict of Interests Policy;
  • Expenses Policy and Hospitality Policy;
  • Recruitment Policy;
  • Whistleblowing Policy.

All of the above are available to view on the SELEP website.


The Economic Development team at East Sussex County Council acts as secretariat to Team East Sussex.