Local councils

Local authorities in East Sussex are divided into three tiers:

1. East Sussex County Council (us)

We provide services such as:

  • education
  • highways and transport
  • adult social care
  • children's services
  • libraries
  • economic development

2. Borough and district councils

Eastbourne Borough Council

Hastings Borough Council

Lewes District Council

Rother District Council

Wealden District Council

They provide services such as:

  • housing
  • waste collection
  • parks and leisure
  • council tax
  • planning applications.

3. Parish and town councils

There are over 90 across East Sussex. See parish and town councils contact details.

They provide services such as:

  • looking after community buildings
  • open space
  • allotments
  • play areas
  • street lighting
  • bus shelters
  • and some car parks.