1. Home
  2. Your Council
  3. About the County Council
  4. Who provides your services?
  5. National and local government – who provides your services

National and local government – who provides your services

Find out about the responsibilities of MPs and MEPs, and how to contact them:

Services provided by the County Council include:

  • education
  • social services
  • roads and transport
  • waste disposal
  • economic development
  • countywide planning and the environment
  • protecting the public
  • libraries.

The County is divided into 50 electoral divisions, each represented by one County councillor. Elections are held every four years.

District and borough councils provide many services, including:

  • rubbish collection
  • environmental health
  • tourism
  • leisure and amenities
  • planning permission
  • housing-needs services
  • collection of council tax

There are 5 borough and district councils in East Sussex:

Check which council is responsible for your area:

There are parish and town councils in the Lewes, Rother and Wealden districts of East Sussex. There are no parish councils in the boroughs of Eastbourne and Hastings. 

Services that parish and town councils may provide include:

  • allotments
  • bus shelters
  • cemeteries
  • children’s playgrounds
  • grants for local projects and organisations
  • halls for social clubs and meetings
  • parish lighting
  • recreation and sports fields
  • traffic calming measures
  • war memorial maintenance

Find contact details for parish and town councils in:

For more information see our Parish and town councils page.