1. Home
  2. Your Council
  3. About the County Council
  4. National government and MPs

National government and MPs

At a national level, the country is divided into 650 parliamentary constituencies. Voters in each area elect a member of parliament to sit in the House of Commons and represent them. Find out about how parliament works and the responsibilities of MPs:

You can find out more from the following websites:

Local Members of Parliament

To find out more about the Members of Parliament that represent East Sussex constituencies visit their individual websites:

2019 Election results in East Sussex

The general election results for East Sussex are on the BBC website:

  1. Bexhill and Battle – Conservative hold
  2. Brighton Kemptown (includes Peacehaven) – Labour hold
  3. Eastbourne – Conservative gain from Liberal Democrat
  4. Hastings and Rye – Conservative hold
  5. Lewes – Conservative hold
  6. Wealden – Conservative hold