1. Home
  2. Education and learning
  3. Term dates and school holidays in East Sussex

Term dates and school holidays in East Sussex

Term 4 ends on Thursday 28 March 2024

These dates apply to all state-funded schools in East Sussex. INSET days vary from school to school.

Add term dates and school holidays to your calendar

You can add the term dates and holidays for all schools to your online or phone calendar, or print the list below.

Add school closures including INSET days to your calendar and get emergency closure alerts

Go to Find your school and use 'Add closures to your calendar' to get your own school's INSET days. You can also sign up for email alerts for unexpected closures.


September 2023 to August 2024
Term Start date End date
Term 4 Monday 19 February 2024 Thursday 28 March 2024
Spring school holiday Friday 29 March 2024 Sunday 14 April 2024
Term 5 Monday 15 April 2024 Friday 24 May 2024
May school holiday Saturday 25 May 2024 Sunday 2 June 2024
Term 6 Monday 3 June 2024 Tuesday 23 July 2024
September 2024 to August 2025
Term Start date End date
Summer school holiday Wednesday 24 July 2024 Sunday 1 September 2024
INSET day Monday 2 September 2024
Term 1 Monday 2 September 2024 Friday 25 October 2024
Autumn school holiday Saturday 26 October 2024 Sunday 3 November 2024
Term 2 Monday 4 November 2024 Friday 20 December 2024
Christmas school holiday Saturday 21 December 2024 Sunday 5 January 2025
Term 3 Monday 6 January 2025 Friday 14 February 2025
February school holiday Saturday 15 February 2025 Sunday 23 February 2025
Term 4 Monday 24 February 2025 Friday 4 April 2025
Spring school holiday Saturday 5 April 2025 Monday 21 April 2025
Term 5 Tuesday 22 April 2025 Friday 23 May 2025
May school holiday Saturday 24 May 2025 Sunday 1 June 2025
Term 6 Monday 2 June 2025 Tuesday 22 July 2025

Print out term dates in calendar format

Please note: we know these files might not be suitable for users of assistive technology. 

If you use assistive technology such as a screen reader, please contact us, and we will do our best to help. Call the Customer Relations Team Monday to Friday between 10am and 3pm about the next step.

Telephone: 0345 60 80 192 (Option 5) 
Email: Customer Relations Team

How term dates are set

We understand that many people live and work across county borders. We work with our local authority neighbours to try to match dates across the region as far as possible. The total number of teaching days and holidays remain the same each year.

Term-time holidays

You should not take your child out of school for a holiday during term time. Headteachers will not authorise the absence unless it is under exceptional circumstances.

Was this page helpful?

Click or tap the rating which best represents your experience.