Help to Buy scheme

Help to Buy is a government scheme which helps people to buy their own home. The options include an equity loan, a help to buy ISA or shared ownership.

Equity loans
If you have a 5% deposit, the government can lend up to 20% towards your deposit as long as you are buying from a registered Help to Buy builder.

Help to Buy ISA
If you are saving to buy your first home, the government can top up your savings by 25% - up to a maximum of £3,000.

Shared ownership
This allows you to buy a percentage share of a property (between 25% and 75% of the value). A local housing association will own the other share and you will pay rent for their share and a mortgage for your portion of the property.

Find out more