National and local government – who provides your services?

British and European Parliaments

Find out about the responsibilities of MPs and MEPs, and how to contact them:

The County Council

Services provided by the County Council include:

  • education
  • social services
  • roads and transport
  • waste disposal
  • economic development
  • countywide planning and the environment
  • protecting the public
  • libraries.

The county is divided into electoral divisions, represented by one or two county councillors. Elections are held every 4 years.

District and borough councils

District and borough councils provide many services, including:

  • rubbish collection
  • environmental health
  • tourism
  • leisure and amenities
  • planning permission
  • housing-needs services
  • collection of council tax.

There are five borough and district councils in East Sussex:

Check which council is responsible for your area:

Parish and town councils

There are 92 parish and town councils in the Lewes, Rother and Wealden districts of East Sussex. There are no parish councils in the boroughs of Eastbourne and Hastings. Bexhill, in Rother District, has no town council.

Services that parish and town councils may provide include:

  • allotments
  • bus shelters
  • cemeteries
  • children’s play grounds
  • grants for local projects/organisations
  • halls for social clubs and meetings
  • parish lighting
  • recreation/sports fields
  • traffic calming measures
  • war memorial maintenance.

Find contact details for parish and town councils in:

For more information see our Parish and Town Councils page.