Senior Council Members

The Leader and Deputy Leader

The Leader has overall political control of the Council, although many key decisions are delegated to other senior councillors (lead members). A full description of the role of the Leader of the Council is detailed in the East Sussex County Council Constitution. The Deputy Leader assists the Leader with these duties. The Leader is elected for a 4-year term by the Council at the first meeting following an election.

The Chairman and Vice-Chairman

The Chairman’s role is similar to that of a mayor in other councils. It is a non-political role, working primarily to promote the county as a whole rather than the specific policies of the Council. The Vice-Chairman assists the Chairman with these duties. Both are elected (or re-elected) each year by the Council. The role and function of the Chairman is detailed in our Constitution.

The Chairman is happy to:

  • support activities within the County Council and beyond
  • be invited to present awards
  • officially open new buildings and projects
  • visit County Council teams in their local offices

If you have an event in the future, which you would like the Chairman to attend or visit, please contact:

The Chairman’s Office
East Sussex County Council
Westfield House
St Anne’s Crescent

Email: Tracey Cochrane
Phone: 01273 481956

Lead Members

These are senior members of the Council who hold specific responsibilities for different policy areas. Each lead member is also a member of the Cabinet. Full details of the role of Cabinet members are detailed in the East Sussex County Council Constitution. Lead members are appointed by the Leader, and are:

Opposition Leaders and Deputy Leaders

Spokespeople for the opposition

Just as central government has ministers and shadow ministers, each of the political parties in East Sussex County Council has a ‘shadow councillor’ for our lead members.

The Liberal Democrat party spokespeople

The Labour party spokespeople

The Green Party Group spokespeople