Parish and town councils


We have set out our proposals for delivering services in East Sussex in the current financial climate. See A core offer for East Sussex.

1. Introduction

Parish and town councils are elected local authorities. Town councils generally represent larger populations than parish councils. Not all parishes have councils. Parish councils are not church organisations.

East Sussex has 82 parish councils and 10 town councils, situated in Lewes, Rother and Wealden. There are no parish councils in Eastbourne and Hastings and no town council in Bexhill.

Print entire guide