How East Sussex County Council works

4. Council departments and responsibilities

The five East Sussex County Council departments and their main responsibilities are:

  • Adult Social Care and Health
    Provide social care services for residents over 16, including residential care and sensory care services. It also has the public health remit.
  • Governance Services
    Provides advice on governance of the council, including legal and constitutional arrangements.
  • Children’s Services
    Provide social care for people under 16, state education and other childcare services.
  • Business Services
    Responsible for managing our finances, IT, human resources, procurement and property.
  • Communities, Economy and Transport
    Responsible for community services such as libraries and registrars, customer access/services, roads, transport planning, economy and the East Sussex environment.

Both councillors and officers work together to supply these services for East Sussex.

Print entire guide