Applying for a disabled person's bus pass

1. Who is eligible for a disabled person's bus pass?

The disabled person’s pass is for people of fare paying age (5 and over) who live in England with a qualifying disability. The bus pass allows free off-peak travel on local buses throughout England.

The disability should have a substantial effect on your ability to carry out normal day-to-day activities and must:

  • be permanent, or
  • have lasted at least 12 months, or
  • be likely to last at least 12 months, or
  • be likely to recur

A qualifying disability would be if you:

  • are blind or partially sighted (Category A)
  • are profoundly or severely deaf (Category B)
  • are without speech (Category C)
  • have a disability, or have suffered an injury, which has a substantial and long-term effect on your ability to walk (Category D)
  • don’t have arms or have long-term loss of the use of both arms (Category E)
  • have a learning disability, that is a state of arrested or incomplete development of mind, which includes significant impairment of intelligence and social functioning (Category F)
  • are unable to drive because your application for a driving licence would or has been refused under section 92 of the Road Traffic Act 1988 (physical fitness). However, you won’t be eligible if you were refused because of persistent misuse of drugs or alcohol. (Category G)

Please note that mental health conditions are distinct from learning disabilities and are assessed under the final category (G) unable to drive.

Bus Pass - Disabled person's bus pass image

Print entire guide