Shaping the future of our countryside access


Following the latest Government advice all of our rights of way sites and countryside parks are open, but some facilities are still closed.

The following car parks are open:

  • Seven Sisters Country Park – both car parks
  • Ditchling Common – car park
  • Ashdown Forest – Pooh car park, off Chuck Hatch Lane in Hartfield Parish
  • Broomhill Sands – car park
  • Camber Sands – Rother District Council’s Camber Western, Camber Central and Old Lydd Road car parks

The following remain closed:

  • Seven Sisters Country Park – visitor centre and public toilet

Our Countryside Access Strategy sets out our plans for the future management of our countryside sites.

Ownership of four of our countryside sites will be transferred to other not-for-profit organisations:

  • Seven Sisters Country Park will be transferred the South Downs National Park Authority
  • Ditchling Common Country Park will be transferred to Sussex Wildlife Trust
  • Ouse Estuary Nature Reserve and Riverside Country Park will be transferred to Newhaven Town Council.

We will continue to manage the Forest Way and Cuckoo Trail.

Further discussions continue regarding land at Camber and Broomhill Sands and the management of Chailey Common. We are also considering options for Weir Wood and Shinewater Park. Any sites not transferred will continue to be managed by us

All the sites owned by us will remain in public ownership and public access will continue.

If you have any questions about the changes to countryside sites please email

Shaping the future of our countryside access
Shaping the future of our countryside access