Shaping the future of our countryside access

Following consultation, our Countryside Access Strategy was approved by East Sussex County Council’s (ESCC’s) Cabinet on 27 June 2017. You can read the details, meeting papers and strategy on the Cabinet meetings page.

Under the Countryside Access Strategy, the County Council will continue to manage and maintain 2,000 miles of public rights of way and two of its countryside sites – the Cuckoo Trail and Forest Way Country Park.

ESCC will also look to transfer the management of the remaining eight countryside sites, four of which it currently manages for landowners, to other not-for-profit organisations.

The sites include Seven Sisters Country Park, Ditchling Common Country Park, Chailey Common, Shinewater Park, Ouse Valley Nature Reserve, Riverside Park, Broomhill Sands and Camber Sand Dunes.

Approval of the countryside sites strategy by cabinet means discussions with interested parties, including the National Trust, Sussex Wildlife Trust and South Downs National Park Authority, can now begin.

These sites, which are protected public spaces, will remain open for residents and visitors to our county to enjoy.

Any changes to the management of each of the council’s countryside sites will also be subject to consultation.

If you have any further questions you can email us at or call our contact centre on 0345 60 80 193. If you would like to write in, our address is: Countryside Access Strategy, West B, County Hall, St Anne’s Crescent, Lewes, BN7 1UE

Shaping the future of our countryside access
Shaping the future of our countryside access