Funding for the arts

Further advice on funding can be found via our External Funding Team.

East Sussex Arts Partnership funding

The East Sussex Arts Partnership has a small number of grants of up to £500 available. These grants are for arts projects which support the East Sussex Cultural Strategy priorities:

  1. Create an environment where great cultural experiences are available to everyone to enhance their quality of life
  2. Create an environment which enables the cultural and creative economy to expand and enhances our ability to attract and retain other businesses
  3. Develop and promote well packaged cultural tourism offers which celebrate the identity of East Sussex, raise its profile and attract more visitors and businesses to the County

Criteria

  • Activity must be arts based
  • Activity must be supported by an Arts Council National Lottery Grant
  • Applications will be considered prior to an Arts Council National Lottery Grant being confirmed but any offer will be dependent on an Arts Council National Lottery grant being secured
  • Applicants must supply their final Arts Council National Lottery Grant application as submitted to Arts Council England. Any subsequent amendments will render the application invalid.
  • Activity must not start before the decision has been given on the grant (see dates in brackets below)
  • Applicant must be a non-profit distributing organisation
  • Activity must be open to the general public, be an arts event and have a clear public benefit within East Sussex

Deadlines

The deadlines for applications in 2018/19 are as follows:

  • 16 February 2018 (decision 20 March 2018)
  • 18 May 2018 (decision 26 June 2018)
  • 7 September 2018 (decision 16 October 2018)
  • 7 December 2018 (decision 22 January 2019)

Please make sure you seek advice before deciding to make an application. Contact the relevant officer below who will be happy to discuss your idea with you and check you are eligible to apply.

For projects in Rother District please contact

Melanie Powell on 01424 787506 melanie.powell@rother.gov.uk

Or

Donna Hall on 01424 787582 dhall.arts@rother.gov.uk

For projects in Hastings Borough please contact

Michael Hambridge on 01424 451790 mhambridge@hastings.gov.uk

For projects based in Lewes District and Eastbourne Borough please contact

Jackie Blackwell on 01273 484394 jackie.blackwell@lewes.gov.uk

For projects based in Wealden please contact

Jane Kilby on 01892 602881 jane.kilby@wealden.gov.uk

For Eastbourne and all other enquiries please contact

the Cultural Strategy Manager at East Sussex County Council

Sally Staples on 01273 481871 sally.staples@eastsussex.gov

Arts Council National Lottery Project Grants

For artist-led initiatives, commissions of new work, and projects where the arts are the main driver. In particular visit the Arts Council National Lottery Project Grant section.

East Sussex 4 Community

For community based arts projects, the East Sussex 4 Community website will match your project with potential sources of funding including Trusts and Foundations.

The Cultural Strategy Manager can advise you about sources of funding, offer guidance about making applications and review emailed draft applications.