Download – East Sussex Landscape Character Assessment

Our Landscape Character Assessment was updated in 2016.

Our LCA sits alongside other local assessments, to provide a strategic overview for East Sussex.


England has been divided into areas which share similar landscape characteristics, called National Character Areas. These provide the background information for more detailed Landscape Character Assessments.

The following links will open documents relating to all of the Landscape Character Areas of East Sussex.

Introduction to the 2016 East Sussex Landscape Character Assessment

Index map of the Landscape Areas

Introduction to the High Weald

1. Upper Medway Valley

2. Ashdown Forest and surrounds

3. Upper Ouse Valley

4. Central High Weald

5. South Slopes of The High Weald

6.Upper Rother Valley

7. Bewl Water Area

8. The Dudwell Valley

9. The Darwell Valley

10. Combe Haven

11. Brede Valley

12. High Weald Coast

13. Lower Rother Valley

Introduction to the Low Weald

14. Western Low Weald

15. Eastern Low Weald

Area 16 (Brighton & Hove Downland Fringe) is omitted as Brighton & Hove are not in East Sussex. The South Downs National Park Integrated Landscape Character Assessment includes areas 17 to 23 (see LCA index map), and can be found on the South Down National Park Authority’s Landscape page.

Introduction to The Levels

24. Eastbourne Levels

25. Pevensey Levels

26. Rye Winchelsea Area

As well as rural areas, the East Sussex LCA takes into account several urban areas, these are:

28–31. Peacehaven & Saltdean, Eastbourne, Bexhill, Hastings

32–34. Seaford, Lewes, Newhaven

35–37. Hailsham, Uckfield, Crowborough

38–40. Heathfield, Rye, Battle

Our LCA sits alongside other local assessments and Natural England’s National Assessment:

For further information contact our County Landscape Architect: