Maps of the county showing administrative areas

Most of the statistics about East Sussex that are collected and analysed by the Council’s Research and Information Team relate to specific administrative geographies at national, regional, county, district, electoral division, ward and/or parish level.

This web page contains links to boundary maps and administrative areas of the county. Click here if you require thematic (data) maps.

Accessing maps of administrative areas

Maps of the county showing these geographies and their boundaries can be accessed from East Sussex in figures (ESiF). The publication ‘Which Geography’ explains how these geographies interrelate.

List of available maps

Map of the South East Local Enterprise Partnership – This map shows the local authority boundaries for the unitary authorities, counties and their constituent districts and boroughs that form the area.

Map of South East region as used for the Census (ESiF website) – Map showing the county and unitary council areas in the South East of England (Government Office region).

Map of East Sussex main settlements and transport connections (ESiF) – Detailed map showing districts, towns and villages in East Sussex, transport routes and Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

East Sussex districts (ESiF) – Map showing the boundaries of the five borough and district council areas within East Sussex.

Map of East Sussex electoral divisions (ESiF) – Map showing the 50 electoral divisions within East Sussex.

East Sussex wards (ESiF) pre 2018 – Map showing ward boundaries in the five borough and district council areas.

East Sussex wards post 2018 - The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) carried out an electoral review of East Sussex between September 2015 and December 2016. This resulted in a number of changes to ward boundaries and 7 additional wards being created. There are currently 101 wards in East Sussex. From May 2019 there will be 108 (6 extra in Wealden and 1 extra in Rother). New electoral geographies will be put in place.

East Sussex Parliamentary constituencies (ESiF) – Each constituency is represented by one Member of Parliament (MP) in the House of Commons, which is the primary legislature for the United Kingdom

East Sussex parishes (ESiF) – Map showing the civil parish boundaries in the three districts of Lewes, Rother and Wealden where residents elect a town or parish council. Bexhill is the only unparished area in these districts. Borough council areas (ie Eastbourne and Hastings) are also unparished.

Lower Super Output Areas (LSOA)

LSOAs are a geography designed for the collection and publication of small area statistics, the most significant being the Indices of Deprivation (ID). LSOAs fit within current East Sussex ward boundaries.

Eastbourne LSOAs (ESiF) – Map showing LSOAs for Eastbourne

Hastings LSOAs (ESiF) – Map showing LSOAs for Hastings

Lewes LSOAs (ESiF) – Map showing LSOAs for Lewes

Rother LSOAs (ESiF) – Map showing LSOAs for Rother

Wealden LSOAs (ESiF) – Map showing LSOAs for Wealden